CSA Truck Driver Safety Compliance Training

The centerpiece of CSA (Compliance, Safety Accountability) is the Safety Measurement System (SMS), which will review all safety-based violations from inspections and crash data to determine a commercial motor carrier’s safety record. The new safety program will allow the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to reach more carriers earlier and intervene in order to address a carrier’s specific safety problems. (Formerly known as Comprehensive Safety Analysis CSA 2010).

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration uses the Safety Measurement System to:

  • Identify motor carriers for interventions, such as warning letters, investigations, or roadside inspections
  • Determine the specific safety problems of the carrier to focus on during an intervention.
  • Monitor motor carrier non-compliance over time.

The FMCSA has issued warning letters to motor carrier companies where safety data has shown a lack of compliance with the safety requirements and warns that the level of safety performance has reached a critical junction. The FMCSA encourages companies to improve their safety performance and safety record, training, and practices. Failure to abide by this warning can mean financial penalties and the potential of the loss of operating authority. Truck Driver Safety Training can assist in helping improve safety performance by focusing on the the most important criteria that the FMCSA has established in their safety evaluations. CSA Online Training provides high-quality streaming video with a post-test at the end along with a printable certificate upon successful completion of the course. All courses range from 8 minutes – 25 minutes in video length.

“The CSA program will help us more easily identify unsafe commercial truck and bus companies,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood. “Better data and targeted enforcement will raise the safety bar for commercial carriers and empower them to take action before safety problems occur.”

The SMS uses seven (7) safety improvement categories called BASICs to examine a carrier’s on-road performance and potential crash risk. The BASICs are Unsafe Driving, Fatigued Driving (Hours-of-Service), Driver Fitness, Controlled Substances/Alcohol, Vehicle Maintenance, Cargo-Related and Crash Indicator. Under FMCSA’s old measurement system, carrier performance was assessed in only four broad categories.

The program also advances the Obama Administration’s open government initiative by providing the public with safety data in a more user-friendly format. This will give consumers a better picture of those carriers that pose a safety risk. CSA was also tested in nine pilot states before the program was launched.

“We worked closely with our partners in the motor vehicle community to develop this powerful new program,” said FMCSA Administrator Anne S. Ferro. “CSA is an important new tool that will help reduce commercial vehicle-related crashes and save lives.”

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.